top of page

Rachmaninoff

Arranging piano music for the electric guitar is one of my long term occupations. I think it started in New York in 1997. I needed ‚a candy’ (quote from my great master David Starobin) for my solo recital at Manhattan School of Music. I had always liked the well known Pavane pour une infante défunte (M.Ravel). So I picked that piece, worked from the piano version, and also listened to the orchestra version. To make a piece like that sound fluent on a guitar is a hell of job (and fun!). Since a couple of years I have played it in a duo version with violin master Peter Brunt. Now, for a concert with my wife, cellist Tjakina Oosting, I have taken up the famous Vocalise (S.Rachmaninoff), another piano version of an orchestra version, now performed on electric guitar. I think I should once publish all these arrangements some time. It took me many years of experience to know the tricks that are usefull when aiming for an arrangement in an original key, which is playable, but leaves the finnesses of a piece in tact. So maybe someone else could be interested in that stuff as well, right?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page